At a short distance from the port, in the Kavaki area, there is the picturesque chapel of Agios Giannis. It was built around 1950 over the ruins of an older church that fell to ruin due to bad weather conditions and the sea. In 1970 an addition was made, and thus the temple took its present form and dimensions. Here is the cemetery of Elafonisos.
In the chapel are saved: a gospel with metallic cover, icons of Jesus Christ, Virgin Mary and St. John the Baptist from 1930 and an icon of St. John the Baptist from 1910.
Mentis, K., 1994, S. Peloponnesus and its “smigopelaga” islands. - Il Peloponneso meridionale e le sue isole “smigopelaga”, Elafonisos: Library of Elafonisos/Bibliotheca di Elafonisos